The Twenty-Fifth Irving L. Schwartz Lectureship

in Structural and Chemical Biology

Professor Dame Carol Robinson, DBE, FRS, FMedSci, FRSC

Dr. Lee's Professor of Chemistry, Director, Kavli Institute for Nanoscience Discovery, University of Oxford

"Isolation of Metabotropic Glutamate Receptors from Human Brain Uncovers Remodelling in Depression"

Thursday, May 29, 2025 11 am

Hatch Auditorium Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai 1468 Madison Avenue Second Floor New York, NY 10029

Reception to follow the lecture



Department of Pharmacological Sciences Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai One Gustave L. Levy Place 1468 Madison Avenue New York, NY 10029 T 212-659-8647



The Twenty-Fifth Irving L. Schwartz Lectureship

in Structural and Chemical Biology

Thursday, May 29, 2025 | 11 am





Professor Dame Carol Robinson, DBE, FRS, FMedSci, FRSC

Professor Dame Carol Robinson, DBE, FRS, FMedSci, FRSC, is the Dr. Lee's Professor of Chemistry at the University

of Oxford and the Founding Director of Oxford's Kavli Institute for Nanoscience Discovery. She is internationally recognized for pioneering the use of mass spectrometry to study the structure and function of proteins. Professor Robinson graduated from the Royal Society of Chemistry in 1979 and earned her PhD at the University of Cambridge. Following an eight-year career break to raise her family, she was appointed Professor of Mass Spectrometry at Cambridge, before returning to Oxford in 2009 to assume her current position. In 2016, she co-founded OMass Therapeutics (omass.com) with several postdoctoral researchers from her laboratory.

Professor Robinson's contributions have been recognized with numerous prestigious awards, including the 2022 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Chemistry, the 2022 Louis Jeantet Prize for Medicine, the 2023 ASMS John B. Fenn Award for a Distinguished Contribution in Mass Spectrometry, and election to the American Philosophical Society. She is a former President of the Royal Society of Chemistry, a Foreign Associate of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, and an International Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. In 2013, she was appointed Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire (DBE) for services to science and industry.

The Schwartz Lectures

- 1993 Albert J. Hudspeth, MD, PhD University of Texas-Southwestern Medical Center
- 1995 Charles F. Stevens, MD, PhD The Salk Institute for Biological Studies
- **1998 Wayne L. Hubbell, MD, PhD** University of California at Los Angeles
- 2000 Richard N. Bergman, PhD University of Southern California
- 2005 Stephen C. Harrison, PhD Harvard Medical School
- 2006 Roger D. Kornberg, PhD* Stanford University
- 2007 Kurt Wüthrich, PhD* The ETH Zürich, Switzerland
- 2008 Stuart L. Schreiber, PhD Harvard University, The Broad Institute
- 2009 Michael G. Rosenfeld, MD University of California, San Diego, HHMI
- 2010 Klaus Schulten, PhD University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
- 2011 Kevan Shokat, PhD University of California, San Francisco, HHMI
- 2012 Tony Hunter, PhD The Salk Institute for Biological Studies
- 2013 David E. Shaw, PhD D. E. Shaw Research, Columbia University
- 2014 Joachim Frank, PhD* Columbia University VPS, HHMI
- 2015 Wayne A. Hendrickson, PhD Columbia University VPS
- 2016 Jennifer Dounda, PhD* University of California, Berkeley, HHMI

Irving L. Schwartz, MD

(1918 – 2011)

Irving L. Schwartz, MD, was the first Dean of the Mount Sinai Graduate School of Biological Sciences (1965–1980) and founding Chair of Physiology and Biophysics (now part of Pharmacological Sciences). A Lamport Distinguished Professor until 1989, he led Mount Sinai's rise as a center for translational research, championing interdisciplinary collaboration. His research evolved from wholeorganism physiology to molecular studies, focusing on fluid regulation, secretion, neurophysiology, and peptide hormones. His pioneering work on peptide structure in solution and crystals laid the groundwork for modern structure–function analyses based on molecular conformation.

- 2017 Stephen W. Fesik, PhD Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
- 2018 Thomas R. Cech, PhD* University of Colorado BioFrontiers, HHMI
- 2019 David Baker, PhD University of Washington, HHMI
- 2020 Joan A. Steitz, PhD Yale University, HHMI
- 2021 Karolin Luger, PhD University of Colorado, HHMI
- 2022 Craig M. Crews, PhD Yale University
- 2023 Ian Wilson, DPhil, DSc, FRS, FRSE Scripps Research Institute
- 2024 Dinshaw J. Patel, PhD Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center