The Twenty-First Irving L. Scwartz Lectureship in Structural and Chemical Biology

December 9, 2021

Karolin Luger, PhD

Jennie Smoly Caruthers Endowed Chair of Biochemistry, Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of Colorado Boulder Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

"Some Assembly Required: of Histone Chaperones, Chromatin Remodelers, and Nucleosome Assembly Factors"

Thursday, December 9, 2021 1:00PM

Virtual Lecture https://mssm.zoom.us/j/84310213033



Icahn School of Medicine at **Mount Sinai**





Karolin Luger, PhD

Dr. Luger is the Jennie Smoly Caruthers Endowed Chair of Biochemistry, Professor of Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry in the University of Colorado Boulder, and an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical

Institute. She is a biochemist and structural biologist recognized for her work on chromatin structure and function. She was a key player in efforts to elucidate the three-dimensional structure of the nucleosome, the basic repeating unit in chromatin. Her lab's current work focuses on how nucleosomes are recognized, assembled, and remodeled, and how nucleosome dynamics affect gene expression. The group also studies the structure and function of histone-based chromatin in non-eukaryotic organism, to gain insight into the evolutionary origin of the nucleosome.

Dr. Luger was born in Austria and graduated with a degree in Biochemistry from the University of Innsbruck, Austria. She obtained her Ph.D. in protein engineering and biophysics at the Biocenter in Basel, then moved to a postdoc at the ETH Zürich in 1990. She started her independent career at Colorado State University in Fort Collins in 1999, where she continued her work on nucleosome and chromatin structure. In 2015, she moved to the University of Colorado at Boulder. She is a fellow of the Biophysical Society, a member of the National Academy of Science; the American Academy of Arts and Science; and EMBO.



Irving L. Schwartz, MD (1918-2011)

Dr. Schwartz was the first Dean of the Mount Sinai Graduate School of Biological Sciences from 1965 to 1980 when he became Dean Emeritus. He was also the founding chairman of the Department of Physiology and Biophysics (currently the Department of Pharmacological Sciences) and the Lamport Distinguished Professor until his retirement in 1989. Under Dr. Schwartz's early leadership, Mount Sinai grew as a center of excellence in translational research. He believed in the "vital interdisciplinary interactions among clinicians, basic scientists, medical students, and graduate students within one institution." Dr. Schwartz's interests in biomedical research and education were far reaching, addressing fundamental problems of body fluid regulation, secretory phenomena and neurophysiology. His work, originally in whole animal and organ physiology, evolved over the years to the cellular level, and ultimately to the molecular level. He

had a major interest in the function of neurohypophyseal and other peptides.

His studies on peptides ranged from bedside observations, to biochemical mechanisms of action, to the definition of three-dimensional structure of such molecules in solution as well as in the crystalline state. The work of his group on the molecular conformation of hormones in solution pioneered structure-function analysis based on the tertiary structure of molecules.

			In Honor of IRVING L. SCHWARTZ Scientist, scholar, teacher, physician		
1993	Albert J. Hudspeth, MD, PhD University of Texas-Southwestern Medical Center	2009	Iniversity of California, San Diego	2016	Jennifer Dounda, PhD University of California, Berkeley
1995	Charles F. Stevens, MD, PhD The Salk Institute	2010	Howard Hughes Medical Institute Klaus Schulten, PhD		Howard Hughes Medical Institute Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2020)
1998	Wayne L. Hubbell, MD, PhD University of California at Los Angeles	2011	University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Kevan Shokat, PhD	2017	Stephen W. Fesik, PhD Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
2000	Richard N. Bergman, PhD University of Southern California	2011	University of California, San Francisco Howard Hughes Medical Institute	2018	Thomas R. Cech, PhD University of Colorado Howard Hughes Medical Institute
2005	Stephen C. Harrison, PhD Harvard Medical School	2012	Tony Hunter, PhD The Salk Institute for Biological Studies	0010	Nobel Prize in Chemistry (1989)
2006	Roger D. Kornberg, PhD Stanford University Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2006)	2013	David E. Shaw, PhD D. E. Shaw Research Columbia University	2019	David Baker, PhD University of Washington Howard Hughes Medical Institute
2007	Kurt Wüthrich, PhD The ETH Zurich The Scripps Research Institute Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2002)	2014	Joachim Frank, PhD Columbia University Howard Hughes Medical Institute Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2017)	2020	Joan A. Steitz, PhD Yale University School of Medicine Howard Hughes Medical Institute
2008	Stuart L. Schreiber, PhD Harvard University The Broad Institute of Harvard & MIT Howard Hughes Medical Institute	2015	Wayne A. Hendrickson, PhD Columbia University		



For more information, please visit our website:

Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai 1425 Madison Avenue New York, NY 10029 212.659.8647 dps@mssm.edu

Additional information:

https://icahn.mssm.edu/about/ait/archives/oral-history/investitures/schwartz