The Seventeenth Irving L. Schwartz Lectureship In STRUCTURAL & CHEMICAL BIOLOGY

Stephen W. Fesik, PhD

Orrin H. Ingram II Chair in Cancer Research Professor, Departments of Biochemistry, Pharmacology, and Chemistry Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

"Cancer Drug Discovery Using Fragment-Based Methods and Structure-Based Design"

Tuesday, September 12, 2017 _____ 2:00 pm

> Hatch Auditorium Guggenheim Pavilion

Reception to follow the lecture



Department of Pharmacological Sciences Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai One Gustave L. Levy Place 1425 Madison Avenue

New York, New York 10029 Tel. 212-659-8647



The Seventeenth Irving L. Schwartz

Lectureship in Structural and Chemical Biology



Irving L. Schwartz, MD (1918 – 2011)

Dr. Schwartz was the first Dean of the Mount Sinai Graduate School of Biological Sciences from 1965 to 1980 when he became Dean Emeritus.

He was also the founding chairman of the Department of Physiology and Biophysics (currently the Department of Structural and Chemical Biology) and the Lamport Distinguished Professor until his retirement in 1989.

Under Dr. Schwartz's early leadership, Mount Sinai grew as a center of excellence in translational research. He believed in the "vital interdisciplinary interactions among clinicians, basic scientists, medical students, and graduate students within one institution." Dr. Schwartz's interests in biomedical research and education were far reaching, addressing fundamental problems of body fluid regulation, secretory phenomena and neurophysiology. His work, originally in whole animal and organ physiology, evolved over the years to the cellular level, and ultimately to the molecular level. He had a major interest in the function of neurohypophyseal and other peptides. His studies on peptides ranged from bedside observations, to biochemical mechanisms of action, to the definition of three-dimensional structure of such molecules in solution as well as in the crystalline state. The work of his group on the molecular conformation of hormones in solution pioneered structure-function analysis based on the tertiary structure of molecules.



Stephen W. Fesik, PhD

Dr. Fesik is the Orrin H. Ingram II Chair in Cancer Research and a Professor of Biochemistry, Pharmacology, and Chemistry at Vanderbilt University. He is a member

of the Vanderbilt Ingram Cancer Center, the Vanderbilt Institute of Chemical Biology and the Center for Structural Biology. Prior to joining Vanderbilt, Dr. Fesik was the Divisional Vice President of Cancer Research at Abbott/AbbVie from 2000-2009. Dr. Fesik's research focuses on cancer drug discovery. While at Abbott, he developed new NMR methods for protein structure determination and drug discovery including a pioneering method called SAR by NMR, and built a anti-cancer drug pipeline.

Dr. Fesik has published 265 papers and trained 50 postdoctoral fellows. He has been on review panels for NCI Experimental Therapeutics Program and CPRIT. He serves on editorial boards of journals including Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, Journal of Biomolecular NMR, Biophysical Journal, Molecular Cell, Cancer Research, and Nature Reviews Cancer.

Dr. Fesik has served on the Keystone Scientific Advisory Board, Board of Directors of the UPenn Abramson Cancer Center, and the Bruker Board of Directors. He has received the Chairman's Award (1996) from Abbott, Lifetime Achievement Award in Nuclear Magnetic Resonance from EAS (2003), NIH Director's Pioneer Award (2010), the Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) (2010), AACR Award for Outstanding Achievement in Chemistry in Cancer Research (2012), and The Lustgarten Foundation Research Investigator Award (2015).

In Honor of

IRVING L. SCHWARTZ

Scientist, scholar, teacher, physician

1993	Albert J. Hudspeth, MD, PhD University of Texas Southwestern Medical Cente
1995	Charles F. Stevens, MD, PhD The Salk Institute
1998	Wayne L. Hubbell, MD, PhD University of California at Los Angeles
2000	Richard N. Bergman, PhD University of Southern California
2005	Stephen C. Harrison, PhD Harvard Medical School
2006	Roger D. Kornberg, PhD* Stanford University * The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2006
2007	Kurt Wüthrich, PhD* The ETH Zürich The Scripps Research Institute * The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2002
2008	Stuart L. Schreiber, PhD Harvard University The Broad Institute of MIT & Harvard Howard Hughes Medical Institute
2009	Michael G. Rosenfeld, MD University of California, San Diego Howard Hughes Medical Institute
2010	Klaus Schulten, PhD University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
2011	Kevan Shokat, PhD University of California, San Francisco Howard Hughes Medical Institute
2012	Tony Hunter, PhD The Salk Institute for Biological Studies
2013	David E. Shaw, PhD D.E. Shaw Research Columbia University
2014	Joachim Frank, PhD Columbia University Howard Hughes Medical Institute
2015	Wayne A. Hendrickson, PhD Columbia University
2016	Jennifer Dounda, PhD University of California, Berkeley Howard Huches Medical Institute