The Fifthteenth Irving L. Schwartz Lectureship In STRUCTURAL & CHEMICAL BIOLOGY

Wayne A. Hendrickson, PhD

University Professor of Biochemistry & Molecular Biophysics, Violin Family Professor of Physiology & Cellular Biophysics Columbia University Scientific Director New York Structural Biology Center

"Structure-based Insights into Activities of Transmembrane Channels and Enzymes"

> Wednesday, December 2, 2015 2:00 pm

> > Guggenheim Pavilion Hatch Auditorium

Reception to follow the lecture



Department of Structural and Chemical Biology Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai One Gustave L. Levy Place 1425 Madison Avenue New York, New York 10029 Tel. 212-659-8647



The Fifthteenth Irving L. Schwartz

Lectureship in Structural and Chemical Biology



Irving L. Schwartz, MD (1918 – 2011)

Dr. Schwartz was the first Dean of the Mount Sinai Graduate School of Biological Sciences from 1965 to 1980 when he became Dean Emeritus.

He was also the founding chairman of the Department of Physiology and Biophysics (currently the Department of Structural and Chemical Biology) and the Lamport Distinguished Professor until his retirement in 1989.

Under Dr. Schwartz's early leadership, Mount Sinai grew as a center of excellence in translational research. He believed in the "vital interdisciplinary interactions among clinicians, basic scientists, medical students, and graduate students within one institution." Dr. Schwartz's interests in biomedical research and education were far reaching, addressing fundamental problems of body fluid regulation, secretory phenomena and neurophysiology. His work, originally in whole animal and organ physiology, evolved over the years to the cellular level, and ultimately to the molecular level. He had a major interest in the function of neurohypophyseal and other peptides. His studies on peptides ranged from bedside observations, to biochemical mechanisms of action, to the definition of three-dimensional structure of such molecules in solution as well as in the crystalline state. The work of his group on the molecular conformation of hormones in solution pioneered structure-function analysis based on the tertiary structure of molecules.



Wayne A. Hendrickson, PhD

Dr. Hendrickson is University Professor and the Violin Family Professor of Physiology and Cellular Biophysics at Columbia University. He was an Investigator of Howard Hughes Medical Institute from

1986 to 2012, and in 2010, he became the Scientific Director of the New York Structural Biology Center. He uses x-ray crystallography, cryogenic electron microscopy (cryo-EM), and biochemical analyses to study biological macromolecules in atomic detail. His seminar development in diffraction methods (notably, stereochemically restrained refinement, phase evaluation from anomalous diffraction, selenomethionyl proteins, and synchrotron instrumentation) has been instrumental in the emergence of structural biology as a major force in modern biology and molecular medicine. This technology is used in investigations on membrane receptors and cellular signaling, on viral proteins and HIV infection, on molecular chaperones and protein folding, and in structural genomics of membrane proteins.

Dr. Hendrickson has published numerous scientific articles and serves on advisory bodies for various scientific organizations. He is a founding editor of Current Opinion in Structural Biology and of Structure, and he was a founder of SGX Pharmaceuticals. His honors include the Aminoff Prize of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the Gairdner International Award, and the Harvey Prize of the Technion – Israel Institute of Technology. He is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and a member of the National Academy of Sciences.

In Honor of IRVING L. SCHWARTZ

Scientist, scholar, teacher, physician

Previous Schwartz Lecturers

1993	Albert J. Hudspeth, MD, PhD University of Texas- Southwestern Medical Center
1995	Charles F. Stevens, MD, PhD The Salk Institute
1998	Wayne L. Hubbell, MD, PhD University of California at Los Angeles
2000	Richard N. Bergman, PhD University of Southern California
2005	Stephen C. Harrison, PhD Harvard Medical School
2006	Roger D. Kornberg, PhD* Stanford University * The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2006
2007	Kurt Wüthrich, PhD* The ETH Zürich The Scripps Research Institute * The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2002
2008	Stuart L. Schreiber, PhD Harvard University The Broad Institute of Harvard & MIT Howard Hughes Medical Institute
2009	Michael G. Rosenfeld, MD University of California, San Diego Howard Hughes Medical Institute
2010	Klaus Schulten, PhD University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
2011	Kevan Shokat, PhD University of California, San Francisco Howard Hughes Medical Institute
2012	Tony Hunter, PhD The Salk Institute for Biological Studies
2013	David E. Shaw, PhD D. E. Shaw Research Columbia University
2014	Joachim Frank, PhD Columbia University

Howard Hughes Medical Institute