The Fourteenth Irving L. Schwartz Lectureship In STRUCTURAL & CHEMICAL BIOLOGY

Joachim Frank, PhD Professor Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biophysics, Columbia University Investigator Howard Hughes Medical Institute

"Ribosome and tRNA Dynamics During the Elongation Cycle"

Thursday, October 2, 2014 2:00 pm

Icahn Medical Institute Building Goldwurm Auditorium

Reception to follow the lecture



Department of Structural and Chemical Biology Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai One Gustave L. Levy Place 1425 Madison Avenue New York, New York 10029 Tel. 212-659-8647



## The Fourteenth Irving L. Schwartz

Lectureship in Structural and Chemical Biology



## Irving L. Schwartz, MD (1918 – 2011)

Dr. Schwartz was the first Dean of the Mount Sinai Graduate School of Biological Sciences from 1965 to 1980 when he became Dean Emeritus.

He was also the founding chairman of the Department of Physiology and Biophysics (currently the Department of Structural and Chemical Biology) and the Lamport Distinguished Professor until his retirement in 1989.

Under Dr. Schwartz's early leadership, Mount Sinai grew as a center of excellence in translational research. He believed in the "vital interdisciplinary interactions among clinicians, basic scientists, medical students, and graduate students within one institution." Dr. Schwartz's interests in biomedical research and education were far reaching, addressing fundamental problems of body fluid regulation, secretory phenomena and neurophysiology. His work, originally in whole animal and organ physiology, evolved over the years to the cellular level, and ultimately to the molecular level. He had a major interest in the function of neurohypophyseal and other peptides. His studies on peptides ranged from bedside observations, to biochemical mechanisms of action, to the definition of three-dimensional structure of such molecules in solution as well as in the crystalline state. The work of his group on the molecular conformation of hormones in solution pioneered structure-function analysis based on the tertiary structure of molecules.



Joachim Frank, PhD

Joachim Frank is a Professor of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics, and a Professor of the Department of Biological Sciences at Columbia University. He is

a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator. He received his PhD from the Technical University in Munich and, in 1975, joined the Wadsworth Center in Albany as a Senior Research Scientist. In 1985, he joined the faculty of the Department of Biomedical Sciences in the newly founded School of Public Health of SUNY Albany. In 2008 he moved to New York to assume his current positions. Dr. Frank's lab has developed techniques of electron microscopy and single-particle reconstruction of biological macromolecules. He has applied this technique of visualization to explore the structure and dynamics of the ribosome during the process of protein synthesis.

Dr. Frank is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and of the American Academy of Microbiology. He is also a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He was recently honored for his contributions to the development of cryogenic electron microscopy of biological molecules and the study of protein synthesis with the 2014 Franklin Medal for Life Science.

## In Honor of IRVING L. SCHWARTZ

Scientist, scholar, teacher, physician

## Previous Schwartz Lecturers

1993	Albert J. Hudspeth, MD, PhD University of Texas- Southwestern Medical Center
1995	Charles F. Stevens, MD, PhD The Salk Institute
1998	Wayne L. Hubbell, MD, PhD University of California at Los Angeles
2000	Richard N. Bergman, PhD University of Southern California
2005	Stephen C. Harrison, PhD Harvard Medical School
2006	Roger D. Kornberg, PhD* Stanford University * The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2006
2007	Kurt Wüthrich, PhD* The ETH Zürich The Scripps Research Institute * The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2002
2008	Stuart L. Schreiber, PhD Harvard University The Broad Institute of Harvard & MIT Howard Hughes Medical Institute
2009	Michael G. Rosenfeld, MD University of California, San Diego Howard Hughes Medical Institute
2010	Klaus Schulten, PhD University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
2011	Kevan Shokat, PhD University of California, San Francisco Howard Hughes Medical Institute
2012	Tony Hunter, PhD The Salk Institute for Biological Studies
2013	David E. Shaw, PhD D. E. Shaw Research Columbia University